Rajasthan, West Bengal bypolls: More wins for Congress, TMC

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Updated: Feb 01, 2018, 10:32 AM(IST)

Rajasthan bypolls results. Representative photo. Photograph:( PTI )

Congress has taken a massive leap and grabbed Mandalgarh Assembly seat and is now on a path to take over Ajmer and Alwar Lok Sabha in Rajasthan bypolls

Congress is on the verge of winning the Alwar bypoll as after 90 per cent of counting of votes, Congress is leading with a massive margin of over 1.6 lakh votes. BJP could only manage 4,42,502 votes.

Trinamool candidate Sajda Ahmed wins Uluberia Lok Sabha constituency and defeated BJP candidate Anupam Mallick by 4,74,023.

The BJP meanwhile emerged second in both the seats pushing Left Front to the third position. In Uluberia, BJP received 1,68,805 votes while CPM bagged 85,244 votes. In Noapara, BJP registered 38,711 votes while CPM managed to get 35,497 votes. The Congress meanwhile came fourth in both the seats and lost its deposits.

Congress's Karan Singh wins Alwar Lok Sabha constituency seat and defeated BJP's Jaswant Yadav by 1,56,319 votes.

The Trinamool Congress under Mamata Banerjee has won West Bengal's Naopara seat and is maintaining a steady lead in Ulluberia constituency. 

However, BJP has been lagging behind in Rajasthan but still running close in West Bengal relegating the Left Front to third and Congress to the fourth position.

The counting of votes for the Rajasthan bypolls in two Lok Sabha and one assembly constituency — a crucial contest ahead of the state elections due later this year — began at 8am on Thursday.

Read in App