IND vs WI, 3rd T20I: With same playing XI, West Indies opt to bat against India

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Updated: Nov 11, 2018, 07:02 PM(IST)

West Indies cricket team. Photograph:( AFP )

Story highlights

Pacemen Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav and wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav have been rested.

West Indies won the toss and opted to bat against West Indies in the third and final T20I of a three-match series on Sunday at Chennai's MA Chidambaram Stadium. 

"We have a lot of pride to play for. We have to show pride, hunger and intensity to win. We're going in with the same XI," said Carlos Brathwaite after winning the toss.

The pitch at has been on the slower side in recent games but the square prepared for Sunday's game is expected to favour the batsmen. 

India have sealed the series with a comprehensive win in the second T20I at Lucknow, all thanks to Rohit Sharma's brilliant ton, and the team will aim to complete a clean sweep.


Team India will also look to test the bench strength.

For the cricket loving fans in Chennai, they will certainly miss Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who is not a part of the T20 squad. 

West Indies have gone with the same playing XI while, Indian selectors decided to rest pacemen Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav and wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav.

Washington Sundar has been added to the squad.

Here is the squad:

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Lokesh Rahul, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik(w), Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, K Khaleel Ahmed, Yuzvendra Chahal.

West Indies: Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Darren Bravo, Denesh Ramdin(w), Nicholas Pooran, Kieron Pollard, Carlos Brathwaite(c), Fabian Allen, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Oshane Thomas.

Read in App