IND vs WI, 1st T20: India opt to bowl first against West Indies

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Updated: Nov 04, 2018, 07:19 PM(IST)

A file photo of Rohit Sharma. Photograph:( Reuters )

Story highlights

Krunal Pandya and Khaleel Ahmed make their T20I debut for team India while Oshane Thomas, Fabian Allen, and Khari Pierre will male their debut for West Indies.

Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bowl in the first T20 match of a three-match series on Sunday.

India's skipper Sharma said that the team has a lot of experience of playing cricket at Kolkata's Eden Gardens stadium and the condition will be supportive. 

"Batting second becomes easier, the dew might turn out to be a factor as well, it's going to play a massive role," Sharma, standing in as skipper for the resting Virat Kohli, said at the toss.

Krunal Pandya and Khaleel Ahmed make their T20I debut for team India.

There are three debutants - Oshane Thomas, Fabian Allen and Khari Pierre - for West Indies.

Skipper Carlos Brathwaite said West Indies, who are the current World T20 champions, are looking to be "expressive" on the field.

Carlos Brathwaite said, "We just need to enjoy ourselves, express ourselves and take on the challenge as a family."

The weather condition is hazy in Kolkata 52 per cent humid.

Playing XI:

West Indies: Rovman Powell, Darren Bravo, Shai Hope, Shimron Hetmyer, Denesh Ramdin(w), Kieron Pollard, Carlos Brathwaite(c), Keemo Paul, Fabian Allen, Khary Pierre, Oshane Thomas

India: Rohit Sharma(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Rishabh Pant(w), Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, K Khaleel Ahmed, Umesh Yadav

Read in App