Prime Minister Modi congratulates Abhijit Banerjee on winning Nobel Prize in Economics

WION Web Team
New Delhi, IndiaUpdated: Oct 14, 2019, 10:08 PM IST


Story highlights

Politicians from various political parties congratulated Abhijit Banerjee, the Indian-origin economist who won the Nobel Prize in Economics.

Politicians from various parties and affiliations in the country congratulated Abhijit Banerjee, the Indian-origin economist who won the Nobel Prize in Economics. He shared the award with his wife Esther Duflo. They're both professors at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). The third co-awardee is Michal Kremer. All the awardees were honoured for their contributions and the experimental approach in the alleviation of poverty.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted ''Congratulations to Abhijit Banerjee on being conferred the 2019 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. He has made notable contributions in the field of poverty alleviation.''


Former Congress President Rahul Gandhi congratulated Banerjee and said ''Congratulations to Abhijit Banerjee on winning the Nobel Prize in Economics. Abhijit helped conceptualise NYAY that had the power to destroy poverty and boost the Indian economy.''

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee tweeted, “Another Bengali has done the nation proud. We are overjoyed.”


 The Chief Minister of Delhi, Arvind Kejriwal also extended his wishes and said ''Big day for every Indian. Heartiest congratulations to eminent economist Abhijit Banerjee for being among the winners of this year’s Nobel prize for Economics. Work on poverty alleviation gets highest endorsement.''


The General Secretary of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) Sitaram Yechury said ''Prof Abhijit Banerjee, the calumny spread about both Presidency & JNU is rebuffed yet again. You’ve done your alma mater proud, adding further distinction. This is the second Economics Nobel from Presidency!''


President of India Ram Nath Kovind congratulated Banerjee and tweeted ''Congratulations to Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer on winning “the Nobel prize” in economic Science “for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty”. Their research has helped economists better understand how to fight poverty in India & the world.''