News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

President Kovind accepts TDP ministers' resignations, directs PM to look after Civil Aviation

File photo: President Ram Nath Kovind. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Mar 09, 2018, 07.16 AM (IST)

President Ram Nath Kovind on Friday accepted the resignations of TDP ministers from the Prime Minister Narendra Modi government, a day after they stepped down in protest against the Centre's failure to give Andhra Pradesh a special status category.

TDP MP Ashok Gajapathi Raju Pasupati was heading the Ministry of Civil Aviation, while another MP YS Chowdary was Minister of State for Science and Technology and Earth Sciences. 

"Further, as advised by the Prime Minister, The President has directed that the work of the Ministry of Civil Aviation will be looked after by the Prime Minister," said a statement from Rashtrapati Bhawan

The President has also directed that the work of the Ministry of Civil Aviation will now be looked after by the Prime Minister.

TDP pulled out of the Modi government yesterday but kept a window open for rapprochement by deciding to remain part of the NDA.

The two TDP ministers had met the prime minister last evening and handed over their resignation letters.