News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Madhya Pradesh bypolls: Voting in Mungaoli, Kolaras assembly constituencies underway

Visuals from a polling booth in Kolaras. Photograph:( ANI )

WION Web Team Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, India Feb 24, 2018, 03.04 AM (IST)

Voting for bypolls to two assembly seats in Madhya Pradesh begins on Saturday. 

Mungaoli and Kolaras seats were vacated after the death of sitting Congress MLAs Mahendra Singh Kalukheda (Mungaoli) and Ram Singh Yadav (Kolaras). 


The state’s ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and opposition Congress will face off in the Mungaoli and Kolaras seats, both currently held by the Congress. Both fall within the Guna Lok Sabha constituency, represented by Congress MP Jyotiraditya Scindia. The bypolls were necessitated by the death of sitting Congress legislators.

The two seats have been Congress strongholds for long; so for the party, which is looking to recapture power in the state after 15 years, the challenge will be to expand its lead over its rival.

The MP bypolls have also shaped the contours of a likely political duel later this year between chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Scindia, who is largely seen as a challenger to the latter.