Women's T20 2018: Harmanpreet Kaur opts to bat against New Zealand

India women opt to bat. (Source: @WorldT20) Photograph:( Twitter )

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Nov 09, 2018, 08.26 PM (IST)

Harmanpreet Kaur-led team India will aim to start the ICC Women's World T20 2018 with a win as 'Women in Blue' are taking on New Zealand in the tournament's opener.

India won the toss and opted to bat on Friday at Providence Stadium, Guyana.

She said, "The wicket is looking good to bat on. It might slow down later. We are playing with four spinners and later on it might help. We have one medium pacer."

For India, Dayalan Hemalatha, a right-handed batswoman, will make her debut. 

Hemalatha, who also bowls right-arm off-break, has played for Tamil Nadu and South Zone. 


Playing XI:

New Zealand Women: Suzie Bates, Anna Peterson, Sophie Devine, Amy Satterthwaite(c), Katey Martin(w), Maddy Green, Leigh Kasperek, Jess Watkin, Hayley Jensen, Amelia Kerr, Lea Tahuhu.

India Women: Smriti Mandhana, Taniya Bhatia(w), Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur(c), Dayalan Hemalatha, Mithali Raj, Deepti Sharma, Veda Krishnamurthy, Radha Yadav, Poonam Yadav, Arundhati Reddy.

No match is being played.
Apr 22, 2019 | Match 40
Indian Premier League, 2019
(20.0 ov) 191/6
193/4 (19.2 ov)
Delhi Capitals beat Rajasthan Royals by 6 wickets
Full Scorecard →
Apr 21, 2019 | Match 38
Indian Premier League, 2019
(15.0 ov) 161/1
159/8 (20.0 ov)
Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 9 wickets
Full Scorecard →