New Zealand vs Pakistan 1st T20I: Pakistan under pressure, 105 all out

WION Web Team
Wellington, New Zealand Updated: Feb 12, 2018, 11:56 AM(IST)

New Zealand players celebrate Pakistan's Fakhar Zaman being caught during the first Twenty20 international cricket match. Photograph:( AFP )

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bowl against Pakistan in the first of three matches between T20I in Wellington on Monday.

Pakistan is currently under immense pressure as its top batting order was smashed and New Zealand bowlers restricted them at a total of 105 runs.

Tim Southee got his first wicket in the second over and saw off Fakhar Zaman, later he took Mohammad Nawaz's (7) and Faheem Ashraf's (7) wicket in the fourth and fourteenth over respectively.

Besides Tim Southee, Seth Rance also destroyed Pakistani line up by taking three wickets of Umar Amin (0), Hasan Ali (23) and Mohammad Amir (3). Anaru Kitchen got one wicket of Haris Sohail (9).

In the last over, Colin Munro got Babar Azam's wicket.

Babar Azam scored 41 runs for the team and tried to push the run rate before Munro got him out in the hands of Tom Bruce.

Babar found a determined ally in Hasan Ali and together they made 30 runs at a very crucial point but the latter lost his wicket to Seth Rance in the 17th over.

Adding to the destruction, Mitchell Santner out bowled Sarfraz Ahmed and the next ball was caught behind for a golden duck claiming Shadab Khan's wicket that ends Pakistan's every possible hope of resurrection.


Blackcaps are already on a high having just swept the one-day series against Pakistan and are backing themselves to continue that form as they switch to the shortest form of the game.

However, they suffered a setback hours before the match when captain Kane Williamson was withdrawn as a precautionary measure after complaining of a tight thigh. 

Stand-in skipper Tim Southee said it was "not a typical" wicket at Westpac Stadium but he opted to bowl "as hopefully, we will get something out of it early on."

New Zealand is resting fast bowlers Trent Boult and Lockie Ferguson for the match.

Pakistan will be without Shoaib Malik who is out of the series after a delayed concussion suffered during the fourth ODI.



New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Tom Bruce, Ross Taylor, Anaru Kitchen, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee (capt), Ish Sodhi, Seth Rance.

Pakistan: Umar Amin, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed, Babar Azam, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashradf, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees. 


Read in App