BJP retains power in Sikandra, wins UP bypoll

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Updated: Dec 24, 2017, 03:19 PM(IST)

Prime minister Narendra Modi. Photograph:( WION )

Marking another victory, the Bharatiya Janata Party has managed to hold the Sikandra Assembly seat in the Uttar Pradesh by-elections.

BJP candidate Ajit Singh Pal has secured 44.86 per cent votes against the Samajwadi Party rival Seema Sachan who bagged 37.60 per cent votes. 

The BJP candidate won by a margin of over 11,861 votes. 

While the BJP candidate secured 73,284 votes, Congress candidate secured 19,084 and Samajwadi Party's candidate 61,423 votes.

The Samajwadi and the Congress party claimed that the seals of the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) were broken. They alleged that the authorities had tampered with the machines for ensuring the victory of the BJP.

The Superintendent of Police (SP) Ratan Kant Pandey, however, clarified that there were three seals and they were intact.

The elections in the region were conducted after the death of its sitting BJP MLA, Mathura Prasad Pal on July 22. 

Over 53 per cent people had exercised their franchise in the bypolls on December 21.

Prime minister Narendra Modi expressed his gratitude to the people of Sikandra for extending their support to the party. 








Read in App