Congress names Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury party chief in Lok Sabha 

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Jun 18, 2019, 02.52 PM(IST)

Senior Congress leader and MP, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury. Photograph:( PTI )

Story highlights

The decision came after Congress top brass, including Sonia Gandhi and party chief Rahul Gandhi, held a meeting in New Delhi to decide the strategy on key matters. 

Senior Congress leader and Member of parliament from Baharampur Lok Sabha seat of West Bengal, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, was named Congress' party chief in Lok Sabha on Tuesday. 

The decision came after Congress top brass today morning, including Sonia Gandhi and party chief Rahul Gandhi, held a meeting to decide party strategy on key matters such as Lok Sabha speaker's election and Prime Minister Narendra Modi's call to discuss the 'one nation, one election' issue, news agency PTI reported. 

The meeting, chaired by Congress Parliamentary Party leader Sonia Gandhi, saw Rahul Gandhi and former prime minister Manmohan Singh in attendance along with senior leaders like AK Antony, P Chidambaram, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Anand Sharma, Jairam Ramesh, K Suresh, and Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury. The meeting took place at Sonia Gandhi's residence 10, Janpath.

Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury is one of the two MPs of Indian National Congress in West Bengal. He is serving as the Member of Parliament for Berhampore since 1999. He is also a former president of West Bengal Pradesh Congress.

In 2019 General Elections he defeated TMC’s Apurba Sarkar with more than 78,000 votes.

Popularly known as ‘Nawab of Murshidabad’ or ‘Robinhood of Baharampur’, Chowdhury joined the Indian National Congress party during the premiership of Rajiv Gandhi. 

Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury stronghold in the area is the sole reason behind Baharampore Lok Sabha constituency is traditionally a Congress bastion since 1999.

There are seven Assembly seats of Baharampore — Naoda, Kandi, Beldanga, Burdwan, Rejinagar, Baharampur and Bharatpur. All the seven seats were won by the Congress in the 2016 state decision.

(With inputs from PTI)