IND vs AUS, 3rd ODI: Chahal clinches 6 wickets to restrict Australia to 230

WION Web Team
Melbourne VIC, AustraliaUpdated: Jan 18, 2019, 11:58 AM IST

File photo of Yuzvendra Chahal. Photograph:(AFP)

Story highlights

The legspinner picked up 6 for 42 and was well supported by Bhuvi and Shami, who picked two each. 

Indian spinner Yuzvendra Chahal displayed a fiery spell of bowling to clinch six wickets and restrict Australia for a mere 230 runs in the third and final ODI against India on Friday. 

The legspinner picked up 6 for 42 and was well supported by Bhuvi and Shami, who picked two each. 

Just when the hosts recovered from the early losses, Chahal clinched three wickets in quick intervals - of two set batsmen and another - to make India dominate the game. 

Both Usman Khawaja and Shaun Marsh were dismissed off Chahal while trying to hit a shot. While Marsh was stumped by MS Dhoni, Khawaja caught and bowl by the bowler.  

Marcus Stoinis was the third player to be dismissed by the right-arm leg spinner.
However, it was Peter Handscomb crucial 58 runs that helped Australia revive their inning. He too was dismissed by Chahal at a point when he was all set to take the game away from the Men in Blue.  

Handscomb is also the highest scoring player with the bat as the rest nine failed to reach the fifty digit mark. Marsh contributed 39 runs and Khwaja made 34 before giving away their wickets.   

Pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar too struck twice after the rain break to dismiss Australian openers Alex Carey and Aaron Finch early.  He also took a brilliant catch of Glenn Maxwell to hand Shami his first wicket of the game. 

Apart from Kumar, Mohammed Shami also clinched two wickets and gave away 47 runs in his 9.4 overs bowled.

Put into bat,  Australia's score stood at 27 for the loss of two wickets at a point. 

Earlier, incessant rain delayed the start of the third and final ODI on Friday after skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bowl.

The three-match series is level at 1-1 after Australia won the first ODI in Sydney by 34 runs and India clinched the second in Adelaide by six wickets.