Rupani sworn in as Gujarat chief minister; Modi, Shah in attendance

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Updated: Dec 26, 2017, 07:03 AM(IST)

A total of 20 ministers, including Rupani and deputy CM Nitin Patel, will take the oath of office. Photograph:( ANI )

Vijay Rupani was sworn in the chief minister of Gujarat on Tuesday morning. 


Nitin Patel was sworn in as his deputy. 


A total of 20 ministers, including Rupani and Patel, will take the oath of office today. 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah are in attendance.

As is Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh. 

Other union ministers present include Ravi Shankar Prasad and Nitin Gadkari. 




A number of BJP chief ministers including Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje, and Chhattisgarh CM Raman Singh are also attending.

Also read: Yogi Adityanath attends metro inauguration function, PM Modi praises him for breaking 'Noida jinx'

As is Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.  


The BJP won the recent Gujarat elections after a long and bitter campaign. 

The BJP won a total of 99 seats in the 182-member house, with the Congress trailing in at 77. 

While the win in the end was comfortable, the BJP won 16 fewer seats than it did the last time. 

That commentators say could mean that the BJP will have a tougher fight on its hands in the 2019 general elections. 

Read in App