Lok Sabha election result 2019: Sri Lanka, Israeli Prime Ministers congratulate PM Modi on landslide win

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Published: May 23, 2019, 01.44 PM(IST)

File photo of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Photograph:( Reuters )

Story highlights

'Congratulations to @narendramodi on a magnificent victory! We look forward to working closely with you,' Wickremesinghe tweeted.

Sri Lankan Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe on Thursday congratulated his Indian counterpart, Narendra Modi, as the BJP-led NDA government looks all set to form the government for the second term at the Centre. 

"Congratulations to @narendramodi on a magnificent victory! We look forward to working closely with you," Wickremesinghe tweeted.


As counting of the ballots for 542 Lok Sabha seats for the world's largest democracy is underway, the BJP seems to lead with 348 seats while the Indian National Congress is placed second in the list with 90 seats, as per the official Election Commission trends.

Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu also took Twitter to extend his congratulations to PM Modi on the outright majority.

"My friend @narendramodi warmly congratulate you on your impressive election victory! These electoral results once again prove your leadership in the world's largest democracy.  We will continue to work together to strengthen the close friendship between India and Israel. Excellent", Netanyahu tweeted in Hebrew and Hindi.

In the 2014 general elections, the BJP had won 282 seats, 10 more than the halfway mark, on its own and crossed the 300-mark with its allies.

If the trends convert into seats, this would be the first time in more than 40 years in India that a party with a majority on its own will be coming back to power with a similar showing.

The Lok Sabha polls that commenced on April 11 and wrapped up on May 19, saw approximately 900 million voters exercising their right to franchise and deciding the fate of around 8,000 candidates across 542 seats in the country. Out of these candidates, 724 were women and four were transgenders. 

(With inputs from agencies)

Watch: In conversation with Anupam Kher on Lok Sabha Election Results 2019


Read in App