IPL 2019: Who will win when Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai host Delhi at Wankhede Stadium?

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Published: Mar 24, 2019, 12:42 AM(IST)

IPL 2019-Match 3. Photograph:( AFP )

Story highlights

In the third match of IPL 2019, Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai will take on Shreyas Iyer-led Delhi.  

The annual cricket carnival has started, India's cricket fanatics are ready for two-months of 8 pm binge-watch and have enough topics for their 9 pm dinner table discussions. 

In the third match of IPL 2019, Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai will take on Shreyas Iyer-led Delhi at Wankhede Stadium. 

Here are the strength and weaknesses of both the teams, let's see how the match will conclude. 

Strength and weaknesses of Mumbai:

The magnificent Rohit Sharma, who has played some match-winning knock in past is the strength of the team. 

And in the bowling department, pacer Jasprit Bumrah and all-rounder Hardik Pandya are Mumbai's core. 

And to add more strength, Mumbai have added legendary Yuvraj Singh to their squad. 

It would be interesting to see how Mumbai will manage Bumrah's workload, especially when veteran Sri Lankan speedster Lasith Malinga is set to miss the first six games for the franchise. 

Strength and weaknesses of Delhi:

In this edition, Delhi have Shikhar Dhawan in their armoury and Dhawan would be keen to get runs in the before the World Cup. 

Also, Shreyas Iyer and stumper Rishabh Pant will step their game to bolster their World Cup chances. 

Delhi also boasts of Prithvi Shaw, Manjot Karla and experienced campaigners like Colin Munro and Chris Morris, who can give stability to the team. 

With the likes of Trent Boult, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada and Nathu Singh on board, Delhi's bowling attack looks a potent force. 

The problem might occur with the middle-order batting as Delhi lack batsmen in the depth. 

Probable playing XI: 

Mumbai: Rohit Sharma (c), Quinton de Kock, Ishan Kishan (wk), Suryakumar, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah. 

Delhi: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer (c), Colin Ingram, Rishabh Pant(wk), Axar Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Kagiso Rabada, Trent Boult, Sandeep Lamichhane, Ishant Sharma. 

Read in App