IND vs NZ, 1st T20 preview: India look to carry ODI momentum into T20s

WION Web Team Wellington, New Zealand Feb 05, 2019, 08.27 PM(IST)

Shikhar Dhawan wants to show his ‘aggressive side’ in T20s against New Zealand Photograph:( ANI )

Story highlights

Following their biggest series, 4-1, win in New Zealand, India would be eager for a first-ever T20I series win as well.

Rohit Sharma-led team India would look to take that ODI winning momentum into the three-match T20 series as the homestretch of a memorable three-month tour of Australia and New Zealand appears. 

India didn’t lose a series in Australia and would hope to keep that run going in New Zealand also. 

Following their biggest series, 4-1, win in New Zealand, India would be eager for a first-ever T20I series win as well.

“We too are humans and our bodies need a bit of rest. Of course, we would be looking to win the series and carry the momentum back home for the Australia series,” opener Shikhar Dhawan said on the eve of the game.

Young wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant would make a difference especially with plenty of calls for his inclusion in the World Cup squad. 

Pant was not part of the ODIs might return tomorrow and can utilise the opportunity to stake a claim for a World Cup spot.

Veteran Mahendra Singh Dhoni is also back in the T20 format and his performance will also be keenly monitored.

India's Test sensation Shubman Gill failed to show his cricketing prowess in the ODIs. However, in Kohli's absence, he might get to bat at number three again.

New Zealand will be desperate to turn things around after a 1-4 drubbing. They do hold an upper hand over India in the shortest format. They had defeated India 2-0 in the 2008-09 in the sole bilateral series played on New Zealand soil till date.

However, they won't have the services of premier fast bowler Trent Boult, who has been rested. It will be interesting to see what rookie all-rounder Daryl Mitchell and pacer Blair Tickner do in their debut series.

Probable Squads: 

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner, James Neesham.

India: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed, Shubman Gill, Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya, Mohammad Siraj.