4th ODI: Dhawan, Rohit depart early; India 23/2 after eight overs

WION Web Team Hamilton, New Zealand Jan 31, 2019, 07.50 AM(IST)

File photo of Shikhar Dhawan walking back to the pavilion after his dismissal. Photograph:( AFP )

Story highlights

After six overs, India's score stands at 21 for loss of one wicket. 

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and invited India to bat first in the fourth ODI on Thursday.

After six overs, India's score stood at 21 for loss of one wicket. Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma departed after making 13 and 7 runs respectively. Both the openers were dismissed by Trent Boult.   

Rohit Sharma is leading the team in absence of Virat Kohli, who has been rested for the last two ODIs.

Young Shubman Gill will make his debut for India, while left-arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed has replaced Mohammed Shami. 

MS Dhoni is still not fit and will miss this ODI also.  India are 3-0 up in the five-match series.

Rohit Sharma (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Khaleel Ahmed.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Todd Astle, Matt Henry, Trent Boult.