Re-polling in six Tripura booths underway

WION Web Team
Tripura, India Published: Feb 26, 2018, 05:07 AM(IST)

Representative Image. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

Re-polling is underway in six booths in as many Assembly constituencies of Tripura on Monday. 

The Election Commission (EC) had ordered repolling in six booths of Sonamura, Dhanpur, Teliamura, Sabroom, Ampinagar and Kadamtala-Kurti constituencies due to criticism from the ruling Communist Party of India (Marxist) CPI(M), which accused the Tripura election department of failing to carry out a proper election.

The EC direction said it has come to the notice of the poll panel that presiding officers inadvertently did not clear the control unit of EVMs after mock poll on the day of polling in seven polling stations where matching of VVPAT slips with the EVM count was advised.

Out of 60 constituencies, 59 went for polls on February 18. Elections in Charilam constituency were rescheduled for March 12, after the demise of one candidate.

Meghalaya and Mizoram undergo polling on February 27, and results for the three northeastern states will be declared on March 3.

(With inputs from ANI)

Read in App