News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Lok Sabha election results 2019: UP numbers show 'Mahagathbandhan' a failed experiment

File Photo: BSP chief Mayawati, Samajwadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav and party president Akhilesh Yadav at a joint rally of the SP-BSP-RLD alliance in Uttar Pradesh's Mainpuri during General Election 2019. Photograph:( IANS )

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India May 23, 2019, 07.04 PM (IST)

The vote count for Lok Sabha elections on Thursday showed that the people of the country have given the mandate to the BJP-led NDA to again govern the country for the next five years. An important part in that mandate was played by Uttar Pradesh, which has the maximum number of Lok Sabha seats (80).

The alliance of Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) failed to stop the BJP's juggernaut which, along with its allies, is leading 59 seats in Uttar Pradesh. The overall tally of the BJP stands at 286, four more than its 2014 number.

The BJP's performance shows that the 'Mahagathbandhan' (grand alliance) experiment of SP and BSP failed to achieve the desired results. Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati - chiefs of SP and BSP respectively - had joined hands in January this year to keep the BJP out. After their surprise annoucement, it was widely believed that the BJP will lose due to cast arithmetic. But the result said otherwise.

The Samajwadi Party, as part of the agreement, contested 37 of 80 Lok Sabha seats in UP.

While the BSP contested on 38 seats, the RLD, also a part of the alliance, fought from three seats. The SP-BSP-RLD alliance left two seats for the Congress in Amethi and Rae Bareli.

Watch: BJP+ achieves massive mandate in Lok Sabha polls

In the 2017 assembly election in the state, the BJP had won 312 of the 403 seats in the state - its best-ever tally.

On Sunday, shortly after the seventh and last phase of polling for 2019 Lok Sabha elections, four exit polls predicted a win for the National Democratic Alliance and a rout for the SP-BSP alliance in UP. Out of the 80 Lok Sabha seats in UP, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance was seen winning 52 seats, Congress two and others 26.