Daryl Mitchell out or not out? Controversial LBW raises new debate on DRS

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Feb 08, 2019, 01.56 PM(IST)

Daryl Mitchell fell to a contentious LBW call during the second T20 International against India which also triggered a debate on the spirit of the game. Photograph:( Others )

Story highlights

Mitchell was at the centre of a massive DRS controversy during the 2nd T20I. 

The second Twenty20 International match between India and New Zealand became controversial when batsman Daryl Mitchell fell to a debatable LBW call. 

An inside edge, that was apparent even without the Hotspot technology, was given LBW out by the third umpire. 

Mitchell, who made his debut in the first T20I in Wellington, was given out LBW to Krunal Pandya in the seventh over of New Zealand's innings by the on-field umpires and opted for a review on the insistence of his skipper Kane Williamson, who was at the non-striker's end. 

Mitchell and Williamson were sure that there was an inside edge but there wasn't any spike on snicko but the TV replays clearly showed there was an inside edge. 

Also, a huge spot on the Hotspot could also be detected as the ball passed the bat but eventually he was still given out by third umpire Shaun Haig. 

The issue also triggered a debate on the spirit of the game because the only way Mitchell could have survived was if Rohit had called him back after replays on the big screen made it clear that there was an inside edge before the ball hit the batsman's pads. 

But the Kiwis, bestowed the spirit of the game award by the ICC quite often, had to accept the controversial call.