4th ODI: Hardik Pandya's 16 helps India scrape past 54, their lowest ODI total

WION Web Team
Hamilton, New ZealandUpdated: Jan 31, 2019, 09:14 AM IST
main img

File photo of Hardik Pandya. Photograph:(WION Web Team)

Story highlights

Boult has clinched five wickets in his 10 overs and gave away just 21 runs. He also bowled four maiden overs. 

Lower batting order saved India's pride by taking them past their lowest ever total of 54 runs at Sharjah in 2000. 

Hardik Pandya's 16 runs helped India score 55 runs after 20 overs. However, he was dismissed by Trent Boult. Boult has clinched five wickets in his 10 overs and gave away just 21 runs. He also bowled four maiden overs. 

Earlier, New Zealand dismissed India's top six players in quick succession to dominate the fourth ODI.

At a point, with just 12 overs into the game, India has already lost six wickets and have made just 35 runs. 

Put into bat, 'Men In Blue' lost opener Shikhar Dhawan for just 13 runs. Minutes later, stand-in skipper Rohit Sharma also lost his wicket for seven runs. 

Both the openers were dismissed by Trent Boult, taking India's score to 23 for the loss of two wickets after eight overs.

But the damage did not stop there as Colin de Grandhomme struck twice to put his side in a commanding position. He first dismissed Rayudu and took Karthik's wickets in two successive deliveries. 

Boult struck again to dismiss Shubman Gill, then young sensation who proved his cricketing prowess against Australia in Tests. It is his ODI debut game. 

New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson won the toss and invited India to bat first in the fourth ODI on Thursday.

After six overs, India's score stands at 21 for loss of one wicket. 

Rohit Sharma is leading the team in absence of Virat Kohli, who has been rested for the last two ODIs.

Young Shubman Gill will make his debut for India, while left-arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed has replaced Mohammed Shami. 

MS Dhoni is still not fit and will miss this ODI also.  India are 3-0 up in the five-match series.

India: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Ambati Rayudu, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Khaleel Ahmed.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Colin de Grandhomme, Todd Astle, Matt Henry, Trent Boult.