1st T20I: India all out for 139, New Zealand win by 80 runs

WION Web Team
Wellington, New Zealand Updated: Feb 06, 2019, 04:07 PM(IST)

File photo of New Zealand team celebrating. Photograph:( AFP )

Story highlights

In reply, India were bowled out for 139 in 19.2 overs. Mahendra Singh Dhoni top-scored for India with a 31-ball 39.

Put in to bat, New Zealand made 219/6 with unheralded opener Tim Seifert smashing 84 off 43 balls. In reply, India were bowled out for 139 in 19.2 overs. Mahendra Singh Dhoni top-scored for India with a 31-ball 39.

India's stand-in skipper Rohit Sharma was sent back to the pavilion early in chase of 220 set by New Zealand in the first T20I on Wednesday. Shikhar Dhawan too was sent back to the pavilion after he was clean bowled for 29 runs. Both the openers were dismissed by Lockie Ferguson.

Vijay Shankar and Rishabh pant also lost their wickets in quick succession. Both the wickets were taken by Mitchell Santner in one over. Dinesh Karthik too lost his wicket while trying to hit a shot. 

All-rounder Hardik Pandya also failed to create any magic as he was caught out off Ish Sodhi. He had made just four runs. 

Earlier, New Zealand batsmen produced a blistering performance to put up a target of 220.

The hosts slammed 219 runs for the loss of six wickets in their 20 overs.  

Openers Tim and Colin Munro gave their side the required start after the two established a solid partnership of 86 runs. 

The two were going strong before Colin Munro departed after making 34 runs. Tim, on the other hand, was looking very dangerous but clean bowled for 84 runs by pacer K Khaleel Ahmed.

Meanwhile, Dinesh Karthik's performance on the field has been a mix. He dropped Kiwi skipper Kane Williamson for five, but compensated it by taking a brilliant catch on the boundary line of Daryl Mitchell. However, he again dropped a simple catch which increased India's target.

Later, Williamson was sent back to the pavilion by Yuzvendra Chahal.  

For India, Hardik Pandya proved to be the best performer and also the costliest with the ball. In his four overs, Pandya game away 55 runs and clinched two wickets.

On the other hand, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Krunal Pandya and Yuzvendra Chahal took one wicket apiece. 
Rohit Sharma on Wednesday won the toss and opted to bowl at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

Read in App