Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa wins trust vote in Assembly

WION Web Team
BengaluruUpdated: Jul 29, 2019, 01:28 PM IST

File photo: BS Yediyurappa. Photograph:(PTI)

Story highlights

Yediyurappa took oath as the chief minister of Karnataka for the fourth time on Friday

Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa on Monday proved the majority of his government in the state Assembly after winning the trust vote through voice vote.

"I assure the House that we won't indulge in vindictive politics... I believe in forget and forgive," said Yediyurappa while moving the vote of confidence. 

After winning the trust vote, he thanked MLAs and BJP workers for their support. "Winning the trust vote is, taking one more step closer towards a stable and strong administration. Will uphold the trust by ensuring transparent and accountable governance. I would like to thank the citizens, MLAs and each and every BJP Karyakartha for the trust placed in me," he tweeted.


JD(S) leader and former chief minister HD Kumaraswamy said they will extend full cooperation to Yediyurappa government for the sake of people of Karnataka.

"Power is not permanent, even for Narendra Modi and JP Nadda. We will not try to bring down your number from 105 to either 100 or lower. You speak of drought, at least now let's see how you will work. We will cooperate with you for the sake of  people," he said.

The trust vote comes a day after Karnataka Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar on Sunday disqualified fourteen more rebel Congress-JD(S) MLAs. 

Yediyurappa took oath as the chief minister of Karnataka for the fourth time on Friday after Home Minister Amit Shah asked him to meet the Governor and take oath as the chief minister at the earliest.

The Congress-JD(S) coalition government fell last week after losing the trust vote in Karnataka Assembly. Following the defeat, Kumaraswamy submitted his resignation to Governor Vajubhai Vala at Raj Bhavan, along with his cabinet ministers.

Currently, there are 105 BJP members supported by an Independent. Both Congress and JD(S) have 100 members in the 225-member House. The majority mark stands at 104, after 17 MLAs were disqualified by Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar under the anti-defection law.

(With inputs from agencies)