Chief minister Kumaraswamy's Congress-JD(S) government loses floor test in Karnataka Assembly

HD Kumaraswamy. Photograph:( ANI )

WION Web Team Bengaluru Jul 23, 2019, 07.46 PM (IST)

The ruling Congress-JD(S) coalition government led by chief minister HD Kumaraswamy failed the trust vote in the Karnataka Assembly on Tuesday.

The Congress-JD(S) government garnered 99 votes and the Opposition BJP secured 105 votes.  

Chief minister HD Kumaraswamy has sought an appointment with the Karnataka Governor, Vajubhai Vala. Kumaraswamy walked out of the Assembly as soon as the result of the trust vote was announced.

"Congress-JD(S) failed the trust vote. This defeat is because of the betrayal of our party legislatures, we have come under the influence of various things. The people of Karnataka will not tolerate this type of betrayal to the party," Congress leader HK Patil said after the trust vote.

Bengaluru police had earlier imposed Section 144 across the city till Wednesday after Congress and BJP workers clashed in an apartment on Race Course Road.

The Karnataka government was reduced to a minority in the Assembly after 16 rebel legislators resigned and two Independents withdrew support to the Kumaraswamy government.

The long winding political drama which lasted for several days reached the Supreme Court, however, no solution could be found as the trust vote failed to take place, finally, on Tuesday evening the Karnataka House decided to conduct the floor test in which MLAs who were present voted although the strength was down to 204 MLAs present.

Earlier, 14 Congressmen had resigned from the party including three JD(S) MLAs who rebelled and resigned as the political crisis enveloped the state.