News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Congress releases 3rd list of 18 candidates, M Mukul Sangma to contest from Meghalaya's Tura

Congress supporters cheer during party's 'Mera Booth Adyaksh Sammelan' meeting, at Indira Gandhi Stadium, in New Delhi, Monday, March 11, 2019. Photograph:( PTI )

ANI New Delhi, Delhi, India Mar 16, 2019, 08.27 AM (IST)

The Congress late on Friday night released the third list of 18 candidates, for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls fielding former Chief Minister of Meghalaya Mukul M Sangma from Tura parliamentary constituency.

Out of 18 candidates declared, eight are from Telangana, five are from Assam, two from Meghalaya and one each from Nagaland, Sikkim and Uttar Pradesh.

Sangma, presently the Leader of Opposition in the Meghalaya Assembly will take on former Union Minister Agatha Sangma, who will be contesting the general elections from the ruling National People’s Party (NPP).

In Telangana around 17 Lok Sabha seats are at stake, 14 in Assam, 2 in Meghalaya, 80 in Uttar Pradesh and one each in Nagaland and Sikkim.

Sitting members Gaurav Gogoi, Sushmita Dev and Vincent Pala have been re-nominated from Kaliabor, Silchar and Shillong Lok Sabha seats respectively.

Swarup Das will be fielded from Assam's Karimganj seat, Sushanta Borgohain from Jorhat and Praban Singh Ghatowar from Dibrugarh in Assam.

Two-time sitting MP and former Union Minister Vincent C Pala will contest from Shillong, while KL Chilsi will contest from Nagaland and Tanuja Punia from Uttar Pradesh's Barabanki.

The eight candidates in the list who will contest from Telangana include, Ramesh Rathod (Adilabad), A Chandra Sekhar (Peddapalle), Ponnam Prabhakar (Karimanagar), K. Madan Mohan Rao (Zahirabad), Gali Anil Kumar (Medak), A Revanth Reddy (Malkajgiri), Konda Vishweshwar Reddy (Chevella), Porika Balram Naik (Mahabubabad) and Tanuj Punia (Barabanki).

So far, the Congress has declared 54 candidates for the ensuing Lok Sabha polls, which held in seven-phase beginning April 11.

The last phase of polling is scheduled for May 19.

The counting of votes will take place on May 23. The Congress party released its first list on March 7, declaring the candidature of UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi from Rae Bareli and Congress president Rahul Gandhi from Amethi.

The list of 15 candidates included 11 from Uttar Pradesh and four from Gujarat.

The second list of 21 candidates was released on Wednesday, which includes Priya Dutta from Mumbai North-Central Lok Sabha seat, and UP party unit chief Raj Babbar from Moradabad.