World Cup: Umpiring error haunts India as MS Dhoni lost his wicket on no-ball

WION Web Team New Delhi, India Jul 11, 2019, 12.29 PM(IST)

MS Dhoni. Photograph:( AFP )

Story highlights

During the game, an umpiring error got unnoticed as the Twitter users have pointed out that the ball on which Dhoni lost his wicket was actually a no-ball

Indian fans felt the pain after India's shock exit from the Cricket World Cup 2019 as New Zealand defeated India by 18 runs in the semi-final. 

The Black Caps will face either host England or defending champions Australia on July 14 at Lord's. 

India got off to a poor start as they were reeling at 24/4 while chasing a modest victory target of 240 in what had appeared to be a one-sided match. 

However, Ravindra Jadeja and veteran Mahendra Singh Dhoni rekindled the hopes of the cricket-crazy nation with a fighting seventh-wicket century partnership but it wasn't enough as India, were all-out for 221. 

During the game, an umpiring error got unnoticed as the Twitter users have pointed out that the ball on which Dhoni lost his wicket was actually a no-ball as more than five players were outside the circle at that time. 

As per the rules, maximum of five players are allowed outside the 30-yard circle from 40 to 50 overs, which is the third Powerplay. 

However, on the third ball of the 49th over, Dhoni hit the ball and called for two runs to keep the strike, but he fell short by inches and a brilliant direct throw by Martin Guptill had Dhoni departed. 

Although Dhoni would have been given out despite the ball being a no-ball but given the situation, Dhoni might have tried just a single knowing the fact that next ball would be free-hit. 

×
×
×

"Always feels bad when you play well all tournament and then 45 minutes of bad cricket puts you out," said Virat on India's performance. 

"At times, I think our shot selection could have been better. Otherwise, we played a really good brand of cricket. Really proud of the way we competed throughout the tournament," Virat added.