IND vs AUS, 4th Test: Pujara masterclass wins the day, India 303/4 at stumps

WION Web Team
Sydney NSW, AustraliaUpdated: Jan 03, 2019, 12:48 PM IST

File photo of Cheteshwar Pujara in action. Photograph:(AFP)

Story highlights

Mayank Agarwal and Cheteshwar Pujara have hit half-centuries for India.

Cheteshwar Pujara's patient century helped India go past 300 on day 1 of the fourth and final Test against Australia in Sydney.  

The right-handed batsman has been in terrific form this series and have played a few magnificent innings on multiple occasions to save India from drowning.  This is his 3rd century in the ongoing series. 

Opener Mayank Agarwal also rose to the occasion and hit his second international half-century to give India a decent start, before losing his wicket to Nathan Lyon while trying to hit a big shot.  

He departed after making a crucial 77 which includes seven boundaries and two sixes. His first fifty came in the third Test against Australia which was also his debut game. 

KL Rahul, who had slammed a century when he last played in Sydney Cricket Ground in 2015, was dismissed for nine by Hazlewood.

Indian Skipper Virat Kohli also sent back to the pavilion after making 23 runs. Kohli won the toss and elected to bat.

Leading the series 2-1, India will aim to win this Test to clinch a first-ever series victory in Australia.

"It will be tougher to bat as the game goes on, so ideal for us to bat," said Kohli. "We haven't discussed the series win, we're focused on this game, and this is just an opportunity to win a Test," Kohli said after the toss. 

Australia axed underperforming opener Aaron Finch with Usman Khawaja moved up from number three and middle-order batsman Peter Handscomb recalled to counter. 

In a surprise, leg-spinning all-rounder Marnus Labuschagne has been called into the side and will bat at three. Mitch Marsh was also dropped.

Australia: Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Peter Handscomb, Tim Paine (capt), Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc

India: Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah