News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Naveen Patnaik announces nine more candidates for Odisha Assembly polls

File photo of Naveen Patnaik. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

ANI Bhubaneswar, Odisha, India Mar 25, 2019, 07.17 AM (IST)

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Sunday announced names of nine more candidates for the ensuing Assembly elections in the state.

The Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has fielded Kishore Mohanty from Brajaraj Nagar while AN Singh will contest from Bolangir.

The list also includes Pradeep Behera (Loisinga), Pitam Padhi (Pottangi), PK Dishari (Lanjigarh), PC Majhi (Jharigam), Mukunda Sodi (Malkangiri), Dr R Panigrahi (Sambalpur) and Rohit Pujari (Rairakhol). So far the BJD has declared its 63 candidates who will contest the coming Assembly polls. 

Three MPs and three MLAs have quit the BJD after being denied tickets in the Lok Sabha and Odisha Assembly polls.

Odisha has 147 Assembly constituencies that will go to polls in four phases starting April 11, which will be held along with the Lok Sabha elections.

The counting of votes will take place on May 23.