BJP announces list of 100 candidates for Odisha assembly polls 

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Published: Mar 22, 2019, 08:29 AM(IST)

File photo of BJP. Photograph:( PTI )

Story highlights

Besides this, the BJP also announced the names of 10 candidates in Telangana for the upcoming Lok Sabha election.

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday released another list for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls wherein Lalubhai Patel, a two-time MP from Daman and Diu, has been fielded from the Lok Sabha constituency. Patel won the Daman and Diu Lok Sabha constituency for BJP in 2009 and 2014 elections. Voting for the constituency will be held on April 23 during the third phase of polling, and counting of votes will take place on May 23.

In the meanwhile, the party also released a list of 100 candidates who will contest the assembly polls in Odisha. 

Damodar Rout, Kusum Tete, Prakash Behera, and K Narayan Rao, who recently joined BJP after quitting BJD, have been given tickets to contest polls in the state. Rout has been fielded from Balikuda-Ersama assembly constituency, Prakash Behera from Salepur, Kusum Tete from Sundergarh and K Narayan Rao from Paralakhemundi, news agency ANI reported. 


In the 2014 Assembly elections, BJP had won 10 out of 147 seats in Odisha. Odisha will be going to polls in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29. The state will be voting simultaneously for parliamentary and assembly constituencies. There are 21 Lok Sabha and 147 Assembly seats in Odisha. 


Besides this, the BJP also announced the names of 10 candidates in Telangana for the upcoming Lok Sabha election. Former Congress leader and ex-Minister DK Aruna, who joined BJP in the presence of party president Amit Shah in Delhi on Tuesday, has been fielded from Mahbubnagar Lok Sabha constituency. 

The party is yet to announce seven more candidates in Telangana. Hyderabad is touted to be the main Lok Sabha constituency for the BJP from where AIMIM party president Asaduddin Owaisi is contesting. Telangana will go to polls in a single phase for all 17 Lok Sabha seats on April 11. 

The BJP released the first list of candidates for the upcoming polls comprising 184 candidates including some of the biggest names in the party such as Prime Minister Narendra Modi, party chief Amit Shah and Union ministers like Rajnath Singh and Smriti Irani. 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi to contest from Varanasi again. BJP president Amit Shah replaced L K Advani in Gandhinagar constituency. Home Minister Rajnath Singh will contest from Lucknow. 

(With inputs from ANI) 

Read in App