Gorakhpur, Phulpur Bypoll results: Counting underway amid heavy security

WION Web Team
Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh, India Published: Mar 14, 2018, 02:28 AM(IST)

File photo. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

Counting of votes for the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha byelections began today amid tight security. 

All eyes are on Gorkahpur as it is the home constituency of UP chief minister Yogi Adityanath from where he had won five times as an MP. It is also a test for the SP-BSP tie-up which has come into existence to take on the BJP, the result could point towards a nationwide third front thrust in the Lok Sabha polls in 2019.


The BJP has fielded Upendra Dutt Shukla from Gorakhpur while the SP has put Pravin Nishad in the fray, the Congress had nominated Sureetha Kareem for Gorakhpur.

The bypolls took place after CM Yogi Adityanath and Deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated their seats after being elected to the state assembly.

Phulpur which was once the constituency of Jawaharlal Nehru is also locked in battle between the SP, Congress and the BJP.

In a three-cornered battle, Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel is fighting on a BJP ticket from Phulpur while the Manish Mishra is fighting for the Congress and Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel has taken on the poll fight for the SP.

Read in App