Uttar Pradesh bypolls: Gorakhpur voter turnout reaches 43%, Phulpur 38% by 5 pm

WION Web Team
Gorakhpur, Uttar Pradesh, India Published: Mar 11, 2018, 01:12 PM(IST)

File photo: An Electronic Voting Machine (EVM). Photograph:( Others )

Gorakhpur Lok Sabha constituency witnessed a polling percentage of around 43 per cent while Phulpur saw a turnout of around 38 per cent till 5 pm today, Election Commission sources said.

The voting for the bye-elections to the two Lok Sabha seats began on a dull note but picked up momentum in the day amid tight security, they said.

The by-polls were necessitated after Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha seats, respectively following their election to the state legislative council.

Adityanath, who vacated the Gorakhpur seat after his elevation as the Chief Minister, had held it since 1998.

The results for today's bypolls will be declared on March 14. 

After casting his vote in Gorakhpur, Adityanath claimed the BJP was getting widespread support from the people.

"The people know that development was the only panacea," he told reporters.

Attacking the BSP and the SP, the chief minister claimed, "These parties are indulging in negative politics, politics of bargaining and politics of opportunism. The state has suffered the negative consequences because of this".

(With inputs from PTI)

Read in App