SP, BSP to collectively fight against BJP in UP bypolls

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Published: Mar 04, 2018, 09:58 AM(IST)

File photo of SP chief Akhilesh Yadav and BSP chief Mayawati. Photograph:( DNA )

The two arch-rivals in the Uttar Pradesh politics, Bahujan Samaj Party and the Samajwadi Party, have decided to come together to fight against the BJP in the upcoming by-polls.

Polls in Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha constituencies are scheduled to be held on March 11.

The seat in the two constituencies was vacated by Yogi Adityanath and his deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya in 2017.

Upendra Dutt Shukla will contest for BJP from Gorakhpur, Kushalendra Singh Patel will be its candidate from Phulpur. 

Sunil Singh SP MLA said "All I know is BSP does not contest by-elections. At both places where by-elections are being held, SP will give a strong fight to defeat the BJP".

"The workers of the BSP want to eliminate BJP and that is why the members of Bahujan Samaj Party have decided to extend support and vote for Samajwadi Party candidate Nagendra Singh Patel in Phulpur by-poll," said Ashok Gautam, BSP Zonal Coordinator from Allahabad.

BSP in charge from Gorakhpur, Ghanshyam Chandra Kharwar, has declared his support to Samajwadi Party candidate Praveen Kumar Nishad in upcoming Gorakhpur by-poll.


While no clarification has come from the SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, party spokesperson Pankhuri Pathak has tweeted that the two parties will fight the by-polls together. 


The SP and BSP had in the past fought together against the BJP in 1993 UP assembly elections. 



Read in App