Congress releases list of candidates for Odisha assembly polls

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Mar 26, 2019, 06.55 AM(IST)

File photo. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

Story highlights

Odisha will go to polls in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29.

The Congress has released its list of candidates for the upcoming assembly polls in Odisha. According to reports, the party has fielded Biren Senapati, Ramesh Purohit, Shyamghan Pradhan and Shambhunath Panigrahi from Rourkela, Patnagarh, G Udaygiri and Hinjili, respectively.

The Congress, last week, released its 6th list of candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections - seven from Maharashtra and two from Kerala, for the Lok Sabha election. 

With this, the party has released names of 146 candidates for the election starting on April 11.

The Bharatiya Janata Party also released a list of 100 candidates for assembly polls in Odisha last week. 

Damodar Rout, Kusum Tete, Prakash Behera, and K Narayan Rao, who recently joined BJP after quitting BJD, have been given tickets to contest polls in the state. Rout has been fielded from Balikuda-Ersama assembly constituency, Prakash Behera from Salepur, Kusum Tete from Sundergarh and K Narayan Rao from Paralakhemundi, news agency ANI reported. 

In the 2014 Assembly elections, BJP had won 10 out of 147 seats in Odisha. 

Odisha will go to polls in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29. The state will be voting simultaneously for the 21 Lok Sabha and 147 Assembly seats in Odisha. 

(With inputs from agencies)