Bypoll results: Lotus shrinks as BJP loses all three seats to Congress, BJD

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Published: Feb 28, 2018, 04:15 PM(IST)

File photo. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

Giving a major defeat to BJP in the held bypoll election, the Congress party retained Mungaoli and Kolaras Assembly seat in a by-poll by a margin of over 2,000 and 8,000 votes respectively, in Madhya Pradesh.

Congress' Brijendra Singh Yadav defeated BJP's Bai Sahib by 2,124 votes. Brajendra got 70,808 votes while  Bai Sahab Yadav bagged 68,684, 

The grand-old party also managed to retain Kolaras Assembly seat with a margin of over 8,000 votes

A total of 22 candidates from Mungaoli and 13 from Kolaras were in the fray for the February 24 polls.

There was 77.25 per cent voting recorded in Mungaoli and 72.82 per cent in Kolaras on Saturday.

Both these seats saw high-voltage campaigns from the ruling BJP and the Congress ahead of the assembly polls in the state due later in 2018.

While Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan led the BJP campaign with a host of ministers, Congress MP Jyotiraditya Scindia led the opposition attack.

Meanwhile, in Odisha, Biju Janta Dal’s Rita Sahu won Bijepur seat by a margin of 41,933 votes.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik arrived at the party headquarters and celebrated with the workers after party's victory. 

Read in App