Vladimir Putin sworn in as Russia president for 4th term

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India May 07, 2018, 02.34 PM(IST)

File photo of Russian President Vladimir Putin. Photograph:( Reuters )

Putin has taken oath as the president of Russia for the fourth time at the St. Andrew Hall in the Kremlin Palace in a traditional ceremony. 

Putin's fourth term comes after he won the presidential election in March, capturing 76 per cent votes. 

He will now hold office for the next 6 years till 2024.

The grand ceremony began at around 12 pm (Russia time) with thousands in attendance at the Kremlin Palace, taking pictures and videos of the president.

Government members, State Duma deputies and senators, heads of the presidential administration, judges of the Constitutional Court, the diplomatic corps and other officials are obligatorily present at the ceremony

Putin's third inauguration took place on May 7, 2012.

About 3,000 people were invited to attend the ceremony, including members of the Russian government, State Duma lawmakers and members of the Federation Council.