PGTI launches Bengal Open Golf Championship 2019; nearly 126 golfers to compete

WION Web Team Kolkata, West Bengal, India Mar 12, 2019, 07.20 PM(IST)

PGTI CEO Uttam Singh Mundy along with other prominent personalities pose at the tournament launch. Photograph:( WION )

Story highlights

The tournament will be held at the historic Tollygunge Club in Kolkata from 12th to 15, March 2019, and will carry a prize purse of Rs. 30 lakh. 

The TATA Steel Professional Golf Tour of India (TATA Steel PGTI) Tuesday launched the Bengal Open Golf Championship 2019. The tournament will be held at the historic Tollygunge Club in Kolkata from 12th to 15th, March 2019, and will carry a prize purse of Rs 30 lakh. 

The tournament which will witness the participation of 126 golfers, including 123 professionals and three amateurs, is supported by West Bengal Department of Tourism and is powered by Partner Tollygunge Club and News Partner WION. 

Speaking about the tournament, CEO, PGTI Uttam Singh Mundy said, “The city of Kolkata has had a rich golfing legacy and has made a huge contribution to Indian golf having produced many world-class players. The TATA Steel PGTI, therefore, looks forward to its return to Kolkata after over a year with the staging of the inaugural Bengal Open." 

"We thank Department of Tourism, Govt of West Bengal and Tollygunge Club for supporting our initiative of launching this event. The tournament seeks to promote Kolkata as a popular golfing destination which will, in turn, contribute towards boosting tourism in the state of West Bengal. The stellar field which features some of India’s leading names makes for a fascinating week of golfing action,” he concluded.

Besides India’s leading professionals, the field will also feature professionals from countries such as Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

 The top Indian professionals in the fray include SSP Chawrasia (four-time European Tour winner), Rahil Gangjee (a winner on the Japan Golf Tour & Asian Tour), Viraj Madappa (India’s youngest winner on the Asian Tour), Rashid Khan (two-time Asian Tour winner), Aman Raj, Chiragh Kumar, Udayan Mane and Karandeep Kochhar, to name a few.

 Incidentally, all the three leading players in the field, SSP Chawrasia, Rahil Gangjee and Viraj Madappa, call Kolkata their home.

 The foreign challenge will be led by the Sri Lankan trio of Anura Rohana, N Thangaraja and Mithun Perera as well as Bangladesh’s Md Zamal Hossain Mollah.