IPL 2019: Squad analysis of Delhi

WION Web Team New Delhi, Delhi, India Mar 04, 2019, 07.38 PM(IST)

(File Image: Source @AFP). Photograph:( AFP )

Story highlights

IPL, which is one of the world's most-watched sporting events, will kick-off from March 23. 

The twelfth edition of Indian Premier League is just around the corner and the fans are all set to witness the classic performances of world's top cricket stars. 

IPL, which is one of the world's most-watched sporting events, will kick-off from March 23 and all the clubs will try to achieve the best result but let's analyse Delhi Capitals' preparation for the tournament. 

DC has never won the IPL title but this time, they seek a change in fortunes for the 2019 edition as the franchise's new owners have changed their name from Delhi Daredevils to Delhi Capitals.

In the batting department, team Delhi already had retained Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant and Prithvi Shaw and during the trading window, they traded batsman Shikhar Dhawan from Hyderabad for Abhishek Sharma, Vijay Shankar and Shahbaz Nadeem. 

DC also spend lavishly to pick South African player Colin Ingram which is a clear indication that the Delhi team has intended to strengthen their batting unit. 

Ingram is an opening batsman and also an occasional wicket-keeper.

Iyer was magnificent in the previous edition as he scored 411 with a strike rate of 132.58 and Pant has proved his mettle in the international format.  

Dhawan has been a consistent opening batsman in the Indian cricket team. 

The bowling unit is a good balance of pace and spin. They already had retained Amit Mishra, Sandeep Lamichhane, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Trent Boult. Besides, they purchased Ishant Sharma to add more fuel to the bowling unit. 

And when it comes to bowling, Delhi Capitals has the most lethal bowling unit among all the teams. The tail-enders like Chris Morris, etc are also capable of hitting big. 

With the current squad list that has an amalgamation of experienced and young players, the team has the best possible chances of winning the title. They just need to focus on implementation and consistency. 

The problem might occur with the middle-order batting as DC lack batsmen in the depth. 

Delhi will play their first match on March 24 against Mumbai In Mumbai's Wankhede Stadium. 

Here is the squad list:

Retained: Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, Manjot Kalra, Colin Munro, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Lamichhane, Trent Boult

Traded: Shikhar Dhawan from Hyderabad for Abhishek Sharma, Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem

Purchased: Hanuma Vihari (Rs 2 crore), Axar Patel (Rs 5 crore), Ishant Sharma (Rs 1.10 crore), Ankush Bains (Rs 20 lakh), Nathu Singh (Rs 20 lakh), Colin Ingram (Rs 6.40 crore), Sherfane Rutherford (Rs 2 crore), Keemo Paul (Rs 50 lakh), Jalaj Saxena (Rs 20 lakh), Bandaru Ayyappa (Rs 20 lakh)