IPL 2018: Virat Kohli wins toss, opts to bowl against Punjab

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Published: May 14, 2018, 08:15 PM(IST)

A file photo. Photograph:( PTI )

Bangalore skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bowl against  Punjab, at Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore, on Monday. 

Speaking after the toss, Kohli said, "No brainer. We will have a bowl first. It is a very difficult ground to defend here. They are also one mystery bowler short and that gives us an advantage to start off anyway. "

"The wicket is pretty hard and there is a nice grass covering, it will be a very tough ground to defend on. Look in every team it would be very tough for all six batsmen to perform in every game, there would be two or three stand out performances throughout the tournament."

In the last match against Delhi, Kohli and AB de Villiers established a 118-run partnership to help Bangalore register their fourth win in this year's IPL.

"Me and AB have tried to take that responsibility but there have been contributions from others as well. KL and Gayle have played well for them. Those guys also get to face the most number of balls as well, so we have to take that into consideration as well. We are playing with the same team. We are going to go out there play fearless cricket," Kohli said.

"Nobody gave us a chance a week back and after the win in the last game, we have some momentum. We will try and not look too ahead of ourselves," he concluded.

When asked Ashwin about Punjab's strategy today, he said, "Obviously, it is a ground where it is very difficult to defend. So, we would have bowled first. But then we chose to bowl first in the last game and our fate was very different. I mean the T20 format is very unforgiving. Having said that, this ground is very small as well. There are no excuses."

"Hopefully, whatever experience we have garnered from the last three games, we will put into use. Unfortunately, we have lost Mujeeb from the last game, who got injured and Marcus Stoinis comes in," he added.

With high dependency on batting, Ashwin will hope to get his team back on track by defeating Bangalore.


Punjab (Playing XI): Lokesh Rahul(w), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Andrew Tye, Ankit Rajpoot, Mohit Sharma

Bangalore (Playing XI): Parthiv Patel(w), Moeen Ali, Virat Kohli(c), AB de Villiers, Mandeep Singh, Sarfaraz Khan, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Read in App