IPL 2018: Pant, Shankar take Delhi to 174

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, IndiaUpdated: May 20, 2018, 06:17 PM IST

Vijay Shankar (L) and Rishabh Pant (R) take a run as Mumbai's Mustafizur Rahman (C) reacts after a misfield. Photograph:(AFP)

After Delhi lost its first three wickets, Rishab Pant rose to the occasion to help its team set a decent score of 174 runs on board.

The wicket-keeper batsman slammed 64 runs in 44 balls which included four boundaries and four huge sixes.

It is Pant's fifth half-century in this year's tournament. 

Supporting him at the other end was Vijay Shankar, who smashed 43 runs in 30 balls.His unbeaten inning included three fours and two sixes.

Skipper Shreyas Iyer and opener Prithvi Shaw once again failed to contribute any big score and departed after making six and 12 runs, respectively.  

Iyer won the toss and opted to bat against Mumbai during their clash at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium on Sunday.

Speaking after the toss, Iyer said,"Going to have a bat. No grass on the wicket, seems dry, so we will look to put a big score on the board. We have been batting first in the last few games as well so we are confident of putting up a good score."

"With regards to preparation and practice we have been spot-on and we will play this game like this is our last game and put everything into it. Liam Plunkett comes in place of Avesh Khan," he added.

Talking about their strategy for today, Rohit Sharma said," Nothing changes for us, we need to restrict them to as little as possible. We are aware of these conditions, so we just have to play good cricket for 40 overs now that we know that we are bowling first and we need to restrict them to as little as possible."

"Mitch McClenaghan has a shoulder niggle, so Mustafizur replaces him."

The defending champions will be on toes today to beat the hosts and book a berth in the play-off. 

The Rohit-Sharma led team is used to miracles, if seen in the previous editions, and this year also they would be expecting another fairytale entry into the top four teams. 


Mumbai (Playing XI): Suryakumar Yadav, Evin Lewis, Ishan Kishan(w), Rohit Sharma(c), Krunal Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Ben Cutting, Mayank Markande, Jasprit Bumrah, Mustafizur Rahman

Delhi (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Glenn Maxwell, Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma, Harshal Patel, Amit Mishra, Liam Plunkett, Sandeep Lamichhane, Trent Boult