India's Harmanpreet Kaur named captain of women T20I team of the year by ICC

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Published: Dec 31, 2018, 01.30 PM(IST)

File photo of Harmanpreet Kaur. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

Story highlights

New Zealand's Suzie Bates has been appointed as the captain women ODI team of the year.

The International Cricket Council on Monday awarded Harmanpreet Kaur as the captain of women T20I team of the year. Overwhelmed Kaur said, "This award means a lot to me to build my confidence, BCCI is showing confidence on me - that I can do well in the format and I am looking forward to do well in the future."

New Zealand's Suzie Bates has been appointed as the captain of women ODI team of the year. Reacting to the news, Bates said, "Thank you very much to everyone who voted for the ICC team of the year. To be named captain is just an absolute honour.".

The ODI team comprised of players from seven countries, including two each from England (Tammy Beaumont and Sophie Ecclestone), India (Smriti Mandhana and Poonam Yadav), New Zealand (Suzie Bates and Sophie Devine) and South Africa (Dane van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp), and one player each from Australia (Alyssa Healy), Pakistan (Sana Mir) and Deandra Dottin (the Windies). 

ICC Women's ODI Team of the Year:

Smriti Mandhana (India), Tammy Beaumont (England), Suzie Bates (New Zealand) (captain), Dane van Niekerk (South Africa), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Deandra Dottin (Windies), Sana Mir (Pakistan), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Poonam Yadav (India).


ICC Women's T20I Team of the Year:

Smriti Mandhana (India), Alyssa Healy (Australia) (wicketkeeper), Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Harmanpreet Kaur (India) (captain), Natalie Sciver (England), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Ashleigh Gardner (Australia), Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand), Megan Schutt (Australia), Rumana Ahmed (Bangladesh), Poonam Yadav (India).


India's Smriti Mandhana and Poonam Yadav are the two players who feature in both the ODI and T20I squads apart from Australiaโ€™s Healy and Bates of New Zealand.

Rumana is the first Bangladesh player to have been selected in the ICC squad. 

The teams have been selected by the voting academy which comprised members of the media and broadcasters.

Read in App