India vs West Indies, 2nd ODI: Virat Kohli wins toss, opts to bat first

WION Web Team New Delhi, India Aug 11, 2019, 07.07 PM(IST)

Virat Kohli. Photograph:( AFP )

Story highlights

'We are backing Rishabh to still bat at four and Shreyas Iyer will bat at five,' said Kohli

Indian skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and opted to bat first against the Jason Holder-led West Indies team in the second ODI of a three-match series on Sunday at Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad. 

"I think, spinners will come into play in the second half of the day. The nature of the pitch makes us bat first," said Kohli at the time of toss. 

"We want to execute our skills in the middle. It doesn't matter for us whether it is a two-match series or a three-match series. We are unchanged," Kohli added. 

"We are backing Rishabh to still bat at four and Shreyas Iyer will bat at five," said Kohli. 

Meanwhile, West Indies were forced to make one change with left-arm spinner Fabian Allen unwell and his place taken by fast bowler Oshane Thomas. 

Veteran opening batsman Chris Gayle is playing his 300th ODI – the first West Indian to reach that landmark – and also needs just nine more runs to surpass the tally of 10,405 by Brian Lara as the most by a West Indian in the 50 overs-per-side format. 

Playing XI:

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope(w), Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Roston Chase, Jason Holder(c), Carlos Brathwaite, Kemar Roach, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas 

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli(c), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, K Khaleel Ahmed