India vs Bangladesh, 1st Test: India beat Bangladesh by innings and 130 runs

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Updated: Nov 16, 2019, 04:14 PM(IST)

Indian players appeal during the matach against Bangladesh Photograph:( AFP )

Story highlights

India bowled out Bangladesh for 213 to record an innings and 130-run victory in the first Test on Saturday.

A formidable Indian cricket team ticked all the boxes with ease as it dismantles an out-of-sorts Bangladesh with an innings and 130 runs victory in the first Test in Indore on Tuesday.

India bowled out Bangladesh for 213 in its second innings to register the first win in this 2 Test match series. Bangladesh had scored150 runs in the first innings.

Earlier in the first innings, India registered a total of 493/6 in the first innings with the help of Mayank Agarwal, who registered his second double-ton of his career.

Agarwal played a knock of 243 runs with the help of 28 fours and eight sixes.

Ajinkya Rahane (86), Ravindra Jadeja (60) and Cheteshwar Pujara (54) also scored half-centuries in India's innings.

Rohit Sharma (6) and Virat Kohli (0) failed to leave a mark as they were dismissed cheaply.

On day one of the match, India had bundled out Bangladesh for a below-par score of 150 runs. Mohammed Shami was the highest wicket-taker for India as he scalped three wickets.

The ongoing series between India and Bangladesh is a part of the World Test Championship (WTC).

After this win, India is currently at the top of WTC standings with 300 points from five matches.

Brief Scores:

Bangladesh: 150 (1st innings) and 213 (2nd innings) in 69.2 overs (Mushfiqur Rahim 64; Mohammed Shami 4/31).

India 1st innings: 493 for 6 declared in 114 overs (Mayank Agarwal 243, Ajinkya Rahane 86, Cheteshwar Pujara 54; Abu Jayed 4/108).

India's playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav.

Bangladesh's playing XI: Imrul Kayes, Shadman, Mohammad Mithun, Mominul Haque (capt), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Liton Das, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed, Ebadot Hossain.

(With inputs from ANI)

Read in App