IND vs AUS, 4th Test: Kohli falls soon after Tea break, India 186/3 after 54 overs

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, IndiaUpdated: Jan 03, 2019, 10:14 AM IST
main img
India's batsmen Cheteshwar Pujara (R) and Virat Kohli bump gloves during day one of the third cricket Test matches between Australia and India in Melbourne on December 26, 2018. Photograph:(AFP)

Story highlights

He lost his wicket to Nathan Lyon while trying to hit a big shot.

Mayank Agarwal rose to the occasion and hit another half-century to give India a decent start on day 1 of the fourth and final test against Australia, before losing his wicket to Nathan Lyon while trying to hit a big shot.  

He departed after making a crucial 77 which includes seven boundaries and two sixes. His first fifty came in the third Test against Australia which was also his debut game. 

Mayank found a perfect ally in Cheteshwar Pujara, who also slammed a brilliant fifty to keep Australia at bay. India captain Virat Kohli, however, was sent back to the pavilion after 23 runs by Josh Hazlewood.  

Opener KL Rahul, who had slammed a century when he last played in Sydney Cricket Ground in 2015, was also dismissed by Hazlewood for nine.

Earlier, Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat in the fourth and final Test against Australia in Sydney.

Leading the series 2-1, India will aim to win this Test to clinch a first-ever series victory in Australia.

"It will be tougher to bat as the game goes on, so ideal for us to bat," said Kohli. "We haven't discussed the series win, we're focused on this game, and this is just an opportunity to win a Test," Kohli said after the toss. 

Australia axed underperforming opener Aaron Finch with Usman Khawaja moved up from number three and middle-order batsman Peter Handscomb recalled to counter. 

In a surprise, leg-spinning all-rounder Marnus Labuschagne has been called into the side and will bat at three. Mitch Marsh was also dropped.

Australia: Marcus Harris, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Shaun Marsh, Travis Head, Peter Handscomb, Tim Paine (capt), Josh Hazlewood, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc

India: Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah