From Sachin to Laxman, cricket fraternity wishes PM Modi for sweeping Lok Sabha 2019 election

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, IndiaUpdated: May 24, 2019, 02:05 PM IST

VVS Laxman (L), Narendra Modi (C), Sachin Tendulkar (R). Photograph:(AFP)

Story highlights

From Tendulkar to Laxman, cricket fraternity wished PM Modi-led NDA on winning the Lok Sabha 2019 election

Narendra Modi-led Bhartiya Janta Party will form the government of India for the next five years after a complete majority win in the Lok Sabha election 2019

The victory is historic as BJP itself won 303 seats that left the opposition dazed and demoralised. 

While the counting on few of the seats is still going on, the BJP-led NDA is poised to get 348 of the 542 Lok Sabha seats. 

From global leaders to Bollywood stars, wishes poured in for the winner of the world's largest democracy. 

Cricket fraternity too shared greetings and wished PM Modi as the ruling party came back in power with a staggering mandate. 

Master-blaster Sachin Tendulkar wrote, "My heartiest congratulations to @narendramodi Ji & @BJP4India for winning the #LokSabhaElections2019. The nation is with you in building a brighter and stronger New India."

Virendra Sehwag said, "India has won. The world’s largest democracy has given it’s mandate. Many congratulations to Shri @narendramodi ji on being the leader of this great victory. May the second innings be even better and India continue to progress and reach greater heights. Jai Hind."


Laxman also congratulated Gautam Gambhir, who won the Lok Sabha election from East Delhi constituency. 

Laxman wrote, "Many Congratulations @GautamGambhir on your victory. Wish you well always. May you serve people well." 

As per the latest reports, the swearing-in ceremony could take place by the middle of next week — May 30 is the likely date. 

In the previous Lok Sabha polls, the counting took place on May 16, PM Modi and his cabinet ministers had taken oath on May 26. 


Indian cricket head coach wrote, "Another stunning @narendramodi & @AmitShah partnership tracerbullets @BJP4India to poll position for second time running. Election results further reaffirm Modi Ji’s leadership of the world's largest democracy. Awesome performance #ModiSweep #IndianElections2019 #VijayiBharat."

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, "Modi ji's astounding victory is not only the symbol of hope, stability, progress but also it’s a victory of Believers over non-believers. Heartiest congratulations sir. Thank you for being a guiding force for all of us.@narendramodi."

Mohammad Kaif said, "Congratulations PM @narendramodi ji on a resounding victory. May we grow as a nation !"

Spinner R Ashwin said, "Congratulations Prime Minister @narendramodi ji on the resounding victory . I sincerely hope and pray that under your able leadership the country will progress and grow to greater heights"