NZ vs ENG 3rd ODI: New Zealand bowlers shine as England 234 all-out

WION Web Team
Wellington, New ZealandUpdated: Mar 03, 2018, 05:23 AM IST

File photo of New Zealand team celebrating. Photograph:(AFP)

New Zealand won the toss and opted to bowl at Westpac Stadium, Wellington in the 3rd one-day international against England on Saturday.

Playing first, England set a modest total of 234 runs. For England, Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow opened the innings. Roy lost his wicket by edging the ball into the safe hands of Martin Guptill.

At number two Joe Root came in but lost his wicket after scoring 20 odd runs for the team. A lot was expected from Ben Stokes but even he failed to perform and got outbowled by Ish Sodhi after scoring 39 runs.

Eoin Morgan tried to salvage England and pushed the run rate but returned to the pavilion in the 36th over after scoring 48 runs. Rest of the team got thrashed by New Zealand pacers as they took wickets on a regular interval to build a pressure on England and restrict them at a low total.

Fall of wickets:

25-1 (Jason Roy, 7.6), 53-2 (Joe Root, 13.5), 68-3 (Jonny Bairstow, 16.4), 139-4 (Eoin Morgan, 35.6), 168-5 (Ben Stokes, 40.3), 184-6 (Jos Buttler, 42.5), 215-7 (Chris Woakes, 47.1), 222-8 (Moeen Ali, 48.4), 231-9 (Adil Rashid, 49.2), 234-10 (Mark Wood, 50).

New Zealand won the first match of the five-match ODI series and England took the second match by 6 wickets. England has never won at Westpac Stadium.

Before the match, the wicket has been described as "ugly" by both sides and New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said he wanted first use of it.

"It looks like an interesting surface but hard to read," added Williamson.


The good news for New Zealand is the return of a fit-again Williamson but they have lost senior batsman Ross Taylor with a quad strain.

England, meanwhile, has gone for added pace with Mark Wood into the side for David Willey.

Playing XI:

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Mark Chapman, Tom Latham (wk), Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult.

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Tom Curran, Mark Wood.