1st T20I: Australia win toss, ask India to bat first

WION Web Team Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, India Feb 24, 2019, 06.59 PM(IST)

File photo of Indian cricket team. Photograph:( Reuters )

Story highlights

India, which recently ended a successful tour Down Under, will aim to demolish the team once again on home soil.

Indian opener Rohit Sharma departed early as India were put into bat by Australia in the first T20 international on Sunday.

Rohit, who opened with KL Rahul, was dismissed mere five runs by Jason Behrendorff while trying to hit a cheeky paddle over short fine.

Earlier, Australian skipper Aaron Finch won the toss and opted to bowl. 

Speaking after the toss, Finch said, "  It looks like a really nice wicket and I don't think it is going to change much. Hopefully, we can chase down the total. Peter Handscomb will make his debut and he will keep wickets too. It is very exciting for him.We play India all the time these days. Short will open the innings for us."

India, which recently ended a successful tour Down Under, will aim to demolish the team once again on home soil.

Talking about their strategy for today, Indian skipper Virat Kohli said, " We would have wanted to bowl first too. It looks like a good pitch to bat on. We are not concerned about batting first. I was switched off and didn't watch much cricket during my off period. I wanted to get away from everything and refresh myself. I am ready to go now. There are people who might be potential contenders for our World Cup squad and we want to give them more game time."

"KL Rahul will get more game time as he has been out for a while, Shikhar Dhawan has been rested. Umesh Yadav comes in place of Bhuvi. Mayank Markande will play instead of Vijay Shankar."

The seven-match series comprising two T20 Internationals and five ODIs against a struggling Australian side will be India's last international assignment before the mega event starting May 30 in England and Wales.

Australia (Playing XI):
Aaron Finch(c), D Arcy Short, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Handscomb(w), Ashton Turner, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Pat Cummins, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Adam Zampa

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Virat Kohli(c), Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni(w), Dinesh Karthik, Krunal Pandya, Umesh Yadav, Mayank Markande, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah