Sri Lanka: Government reshuffles cabinet second time in year

WION Web Team Delhi, India May 01, 2018, 12.29 PM(IST)

File photo of Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena. Photograph:( AFP )

Story highlights

The reshuffle was necessitated after Prime Minister Wickremesinghe won 'no confidence' motion in Parliament last month

Sri Lankan government rejigged its cabinet earlier today at the Presidential Secretariat. This is the second cabinet reshuffle in a year by the Maithripala Sirisena-led government and the fourth ever since the government was formed in the year 2015. 

The last cabinet turnaround took place on February 5 this year. 

According to reports, as many as 18 changes have been made in the cabinet. New faces and portfolios have been introduced. Former minister of Justice Wijedasa Rajapakse has been named the Minister of Education and Cultural Affairs.

The reshuffle was necessitated after Prime Minister Wickremesinghe won 'no confidence' motion in Parliament last month.

Parliament will recommence its session from May 8.

All in all, 18 ministers were sworn in today, no further changes in the cabinet were made.

Here is the complete list of new cabinet ministers.

Lakshman Kiriella – Minister of Public Enterprise and Kandy Development

Sarath Amunugama – Minister of Science, Technology and Research, Skills Development and Vocational Training, and Hill Country Heritage

SB Navinna – Minister of Internal Affairs and Wayamba Development

Mahinda Amaraweera – Minister of Agriculture

Duminda Dissanayake – Minister of Irrigation and Water Resources Management and Disaster Management

P Harrison – Minister of Social Empowerment

Kabir Hashim – Minister of Highways and Road Development

Ranjith Maddumabandara – Minister of Public Administration and Management, Minister of Law and Order

Thalatha Athukorala – Minister of Justice and Prison Reforms

Faiszer Musthapha – Minister of Sports, Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government

Vijith Vijayamuni Zoysa – Minister of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development and Rural Economy

DM Swaminathan – Minister of Rehabilitation, Resettlement, Northern Development and Hindu Religious Affairs

Sagala Ratnayake – Minister of Project Management, Youth Affairs and Southern Development

Mano Ganesan – Minister of National Co-existence, Reconciliation and Official Languages

Daya Gamage – Minister of Social Welfare and Primary Industries

Sarath Fonseka – Minister of Sustainable Development, Wildlife and Regional Development

Ravindra Samaraweera – Minister of Labour and Trade Union Relations

Wijedasa Rajapakshe – Minister of Higher Education and Cultural Affairs