News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Second phase polls: It is Gowda vs Gowda in Bangalore North

Sadananda Gowda Photograph:( ANI )

WION Web Team Bangalore, Karnataka, India Apr 15, 2019, 08.31 PM (IST)

India's IT capital, Bangalore (North) parliamentary constituency which is part of four constituencies - Bangalore Rural, Bangalore Central, Bangalore South - would be going to the polls in the second phase of elections on April 18th.

The constituency was late Congress leader C.K.Jaffer Sharieff's bastion. The former Congress railway minister won consequentively from here in 1977 to 1991. He again won the seat in 1998 and 1999.

The BJP finally beat Sharieff in 2004 and 2009 Lok Sabha polls when HT Sangliana and DB Chandra Gowda got the better of the Congress leader. 

In a historic twist in 1984 Lok Sabha polls, late defence minister George Fernandes had stood from here against Sharieff who beat him. In 2014, the constituency had recorded a relatively low 56 per voter turnout, however, it was higher than in 2009 when 47 per cent people opted to vote.

This time voter turnout would play a huge role for the BJP as the anti-incumbency factor could work against it with the JD(S)-Congress coalition eager to exploit any BJP weakness.

Interestingly, Bangalore has a history of recording low voter turnout with the urban voters mostly staying away from polls, the BJP and JD(S)-Congress would be hoping it is different this time. 

Former Karnataka chief minister and Union minister Sadananda Gowda, 66, who is the sitting MP will be fighting again from here. Sadananda Gowda will take on Congress's Krishna Byre Gowda, 46, who is the state's rural development, law and parliamentary affairs minister in CM Kumaraswamy's cabinet.

Sadananda Gowda got over 7 lakh votes in 2014 beating his Congress rival C. Narayaswamy who garnered over 4.8 lakh votes. Sadananda finally won with a thumping 229,764 votes over his rival. 

The BJP had swept all four Lok Sabha constituencies in Bangalore in 2014.

Congress is also banking on the "Gowda factor" with Krishna Byre Gowda set to take on his BJP rival. He is the face of the JD(S)-Congress coalition. JD(S) is hoping Krishna Byre Gowda pulls the vital upper caste Vokkaliga votes, which has been BJP's prime vote bank in the last two elections.

The effect of the Gowda factor is such that several JD(S) party workers wanted party supremo H D Deve Gowda to contest from here, however, in the end, the ruling party in the state decided to go with its seat-sharing agreement with the Congress.

Congress candidate Krishna hails from a political family, his father, C. Byre Gowda, was a JD(U) leader. He had earlier lost the elections in 2009. The American University graduate is also an agriculturalist.

A crucial factor which could work in BJP's favour is the BSP which is also fighting from here with Syed Hydri Babloo representing the party. Mayawati's party to keen to pick up lower caste votes, which could work against the JD(S)-Congress coalition. It could well be the joker in the pack.

The results to be declared on May 23rd is too close to call with the second phase election in the crucial Bangalore constituency set to be a cliffhanger.

Story highlights

The constituency was was late Congress leader C.K.Jaffer Sharieff's bastion. The former Congress railway minister won consecutively from here in 1977 to 1991.