Highlights from the 2018 Rajya Sabha election

WION Web Team
New Delhi, Delhi, India Published: Mar 23, 2018, 05:00 PM(IST)

File photo of the Rajya Sabha, India's upper house of parliament. Photograph:( ANI )

The polls to the Rajya Sabha, which will have 58 vacancies in April, were held on Friday.

For the 58 Rajya Sabha seats to be filled, 33 candidates from 10 states have been unanimously elected.

The results of the anticipated election to 25 seats of the Rajya Sabha have started pouring in from across the country. 

The counting for Rajya Sabha elections for 25 seats is currently underway across six states - Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Telangana. The polling began on Friday morning.

Meanwhile, after initially being put on hold, the counting has also started in Uttar Pradesh and Karnataka. It was put on hold in UP after SP-BSP filed a complaint against the two MLAs who cross-voted. 

Counting began only after the Election Commission gave its clearance after some parties raised objections over cross-voting. Though the ruling BJP is confident of shoring up its numbers in the Rajya Sabha, two seats - in Uttar Pradesh and Karnataka - have emerged as prestige battles for the party. 

  • BJP has won the prestige fight in Uttar Pradesh by winning 9 Rajya Sabha seats out of 10.
  • The Trinamool Congress won four seats in West Bengal. All four TMC candidates - sitting Rajya Sabha member Nadimul Haque and first-time nominees Subhasish Chakraborty, Abir Biswas and Santanu Sen - emerged victorious.
  • Congress's Abhishek Manu Singhvi won the Rajya Sabha election from West Bengal. 
  • MP Veerendra Kumar, the state president of the Janata Dal (U)'s Sharad Yadav faction, was elected to the Rajya Sabha from Kerala.
  • Candidates of Telangana's ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) - B Prakash, J Santosh Kumar and AB Lingaiah Yadav - bagged all three Rajya Sabha seats.
  • TDP leader CM Ramesh was unanimously elected to the Rajya Sabha in Andhra Pradesh.
  • Dr L Hanumanthaiah, Dr Syed Naseer Hussain and G C Chandrasekhar from Congress and the BJP's Rajeev Chandrashekar bagged the Rajya Sabha seats in Karnataka.
  • BJP's Saroj Pandey won the Rajya Sabha election from Chhattisgarh by beating Congress's Lekhram Sahu.
  • Samajwadi Party candidate Jaya Bachchan has bagged 38 votes to win another Rajya Sabha term.
Read in App