News WrapGet Handpicked Stories from our editors directly to your mailbox

Lok Sabha elections 2019: Polls a fight between credibility and opportunism, says YSRC chief

File photo: Jaganmohan Reddy. Photograph:( Zee News Network )

PTI Amaravati, Andhra Pradesh, India Mar 12, 2019, 12.01 PM (IST)

Terming the April 11 elections in the state a fight between "credibility and opportunism," YSR Congress president Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy Monday asked people of Andhra Pradesh to vote for change to usher in welfare and development in equal measure.

Kickstarting his party's election campaign in the coastal city of Kakinada, Reddy said the time has come for people to teach Chief Minister and TDP president Chandrababu Naidu a fitting lesson for having cheated people on all counts.

"These elections are not between two political parties but a fight between credibility and opportunism. It is a fight between democracy and anarchy.

It is high time that such an unscrupulous person (Chandrababu Naidu) should go, as people are vexed with his lies, U-turns, deceptions and cheating," the Leader of Opposition said.

Jagan alleged Naidu was responsible for the division of the state and also stalling Special Category Status (SCS).

"He defaced the Polavaram project and stood as a promoter of real estate business in the (Amaravati) capital region," the YSRC chief alleged.

"The time has come to usher in a change, one for betterment and prosperity," Reddy said.

Meanwhile, Chandrababu Naidu alleged that the YSRC was seeking to win the elections through conspiracies.

"He (Reddy) has been to jail and sent several others as well. YSRC has a criminal history. If Jagan Mohan Reddy is trusted, he will send everyone to jail," Naidu told his party cadre through teleconference.

"In this just war, victory will be TDPs," Naidu added.

Over 3.71 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise for electing 25 Lok Sabha members and 175 members of the state assembly in the polls, the first after the state was bifurcated to create Telangana in 2014.