It's Congress vs NR Congress in Puducherry Lok Sabha seat

Written By: Sidharth MP WION
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India Updated: Feb 21, 2019, 08:43 PM(IST)

File photo of N Rangaswamy Photograph:( DNA )

Story highlights

The NR Congress is a breakaway faction of the Indian National Congress formed on February 2011 by N Rangaswamy

All India N R Congress (AINRC) has been allotted lone Puducherry seat in AIADMK-PMK-BJP alliance in Tamil Nadu. 

The NR Congress joined hands with the AIADMK-PMK-BJP alliance and has been allotted the lone Lot Sabha constituency in Puducherry. The alliance was firmed up at the AIADMK party office in Chennai in the presence of AIADMK coordinators Edappadi K Palaniswami, Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam and NR Congress chief N Rangaswamy. 

Over the last two days the AIADMK, DMK and other major political parties in Tamil Nadu made official announcements about their seat-sharing pacts with the BJP, PMK and the Congress. Now, the parties are in talks with smaller regional outfits.

The NR Congress is a breakaway faction of the Indian National Congress. It was formed on February 2011 by N Rangaswamy, the former Chief Minister of Puducherry. The incumbent Member of Parliament R. Radhakrihsnan from the Puducherry constituency is from NR Congress. 

Within a few days, the smaller parties in Tamil Nadu are expected to forge their ties with the both AIADMK or DMK camps. Currently, the DMDK of captain Vijayakanth is in talks with both the factions, while the Left parties, Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi (VCK), Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam(MDMK) and Manithaneya Makkal Katchi(MMK) are in talks with the DMK led-front. The AIADMK is also said to be in talks with the Tamil Maanila Congress(TMC) and Puthiya Tamizhagam. 

Tamil Nadu and Puducherry have a total of 40 Lok Sabha seats. As per the current seat-sharing arrangements, AIADMK has allotted five seats to the BJP, seven Lok Sabha seats and one Rajya Sabha seat to the PMK and one seat for the NR Congress. 

The DMK has allotted 10 seats to the Congress party.

Read in App